salad, schmalad

14 Jun

Ok so I realize that salads are pretty bah humbug to some people. To others, they’re pretty glorious. To moi, a salad CAN be great, but naturally I tend to be very very very very fussy and thus the salad has to be juuuuuust so or I wont partake!

I absolutely hate cold grain salads. You name it, I will probably hate it. I even attempted a cold salad smothered in glorious bits of goat and feta cheese and could barely keep it down. I can, however, handle a caesar salad smothered in dressing, croutons and copious amounts of parmesan cheese!

Anyways, me not eating vegetables after the wedding was becoming a habit and we need our veggies! I was literally gagging at raw vegetables and could only handle eating them baked in fry like shapes & drowned in ketchup ( note this is still my favourite way to consume veggies!). I literally ate so many raw vegetables during my cleanse prior to the wedding that I needed a break- but break time is over! So today I give you a super dressing thats reminiscent of a vinaigrette caesar and for some reason has a hint of cooked bacon in it. I could be imagining this, but I rarely give health food a thumbs up unless its divine….speaking of that, it sort of bothers me when foodie bloggers suggest that there kale chips taste like “ketchup” or “ripple sour cream n’ onion”. Your not fooling anyone! Especially a chip connoisseur like me!

Okay so here’s the dressing that will help you gag down that salad if thats the last thing you want, but know you need. Also please do yourself a favour and mix in some homemade or boxed croutons and some shredded parmesan or whatever cheese strikes your fancy. Who knows, you may need another bowl!

Britt’s awesome dressing:

  • 2 TBL EVOO
  • 2 TBL grapeseed oil ( or extra olive oil)
  • 2 TBL lemon juice
  • 1 TBL tamari ( or soy sauce but I like to use Tamari because its wheat free)
  • 2 cloves garlic finely chopped
  • dash of herbamare or salt
  • dash pepper
Directions:
puree in mini food processor OR if your too lazy to wash the mini food processor when your done…simply take your ingredients and put them all in a mini tupperware. CLOSE tupperware and shake vigorously! You can enjoy immediately, but if you have time, leave the dressing for a half hour + so that the flavours can meld together. Delicious! Tastes even better the next day.
 
Enjoy! 
Leave a Reply

