Coconut bliss brown rice pudding.

27 Apr

Brown rice pudding is a dream. I can’t say enough about my newly discovered treat. 

This baby was dreamed up after a dinner I had recently. I rarely ever order dessert at restaurant- though I always always always want it- no matter how full I am. Nonetheless, I always look at the menu to check it out. I noticed they had rice pudding and realized I had never tried. Naturally it was made with heavy cream. WHY is everything in North American laden with cream! I also find that restaurants never have healthier options in the mix either which is okay because it helps me brainstorm amazing ideas that I can share with you.

Behold the dreamiest/creamiest rice puddin’ ever!I

I’ve been eating this pretty much non-stop for breakfast but it easily doubles as a dessert.

What you’ll need: ( serves 4)

  • 1 cup brown basmati rice
  • 2 cups water
  • 1 cup vanilla almond milk
  • 1 can full fat coconut milk ( don’t kid yourself with the ‘lite’)
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • cinnamon stick / 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp cardamom
  • 1 inch piece fresh ginger or dash of ginger
  • handful of raisins or 1/4 cup- adjust to your liking
  • 2 heaping tablespoons cane sugar or brown sugar 
  • 1/2 cup pecans/walnuts/almond/ whatever nut you prefer. ( can omit)

Method:

Bring the rice along with the water,almond milk, salt, ginger, cardamom and cinnamon to a boil. Reduce heat to low and cook until rice is done ( approximately 35-40 minutes)

Once rice is ready pour in the coconut milk along with the sugar and raisins. Continue to simmer on low until you reach the consistency you like. I simmered mine for approximately 20 minutes this morning because I was antsy for breakfast but would recommend a longer simmering period to reach maximum creamy dreaminess.

NOTE: If you DO tend to sprint to the kitchen to inhale breakfast immediately like myself, keep in mind that this breakfast takes approximately 1 hour + until its ready. What I do is make eggs or a smoothie as an ‘appetizer’ and then wait for this. Good things definitely come to those who wait.

Sorry about the missing photos again. Im so bad at remembering!!

Topping ideas:

Sliced banana with almond butter

Peanut butter & Jam

Diced mango

More dried fruit

BON APPETIT and have an awesome weekend!

 

 

Leave a Reply

