Turkey Burgers in under 10 minutes.

4 Apr

I spend about a 1/4 of my day scouring blogs, pinterest and tastespotting looking for fun and interesting new recipes to try. Most of the time its fun until there are those days that there are too many amazing recipes and then I get anxiety thinking I need to make them all immediately! ( Maybe that’s just me?)

As we gear up for NYC on saturday (yay!) Im trying to buy less groceries so we don’t have to freeze an entire fridge full….and just use what we have. Floyd and I were in the mood for turkey burgers, so I looked up several thousand recipes and knew that each and every one would ask me to break out more than one bowl, a grater and measuring spoons. That was too much to ask. On this blog, you’ll probably notice that many of the recipes are NOT labour intensive. I have a hard time relishing in the ‘slow cooking’ method because what tends to happen is that i’ve eaten my weight in snacks by the time dinner is ready. So as you can see dinner needs to be fast!!

So here’s what I came up with..and its pretty damn good if I do say so myself. One bowl. No measuring spoons nor measuring cups and voila- a burger patty that doesn’t require 6000 steps.

The under 10 Turkey Burger ( Probably not going to win best patty of the year but will definitely satisfy the burger craving)

  • 1 package ground turkey thigh/breast ( Im not sure how many kg’s my pack was but it was roughly three handfuls or a single pack/ NOT a family pack) ( again go with what you have)
  • 1 egg ( room temperature)
  • handful or two of bread crumbs ( opt for wheat free if wheat makes your stomach uncomfortable)
  • spices galore. (Again go with what you have. I chose a mixture of dried garlic, onion, paprika and cayenne.No measuring needed just sprinkle it in)

Directions:

MIX MIX MIX! I just used a fork and smashed it all together. Now preheat a non stick pan on medium heat. Get your hands wet and mold burger patties in your hands. No need to have a perfect disk here. Plop them on the pan and grill on each side for approximately 5 minutes or until no pink is showing. Done and done!

—> The one slow cooking method you can use…and which I strongly advise is to chop some onions thinly into moon shapes and fry on very low heat for about 45 minutes or until caramelized. You can store the extras in the fridge for the week so you can always have them handy for sandwiches, THESE turkey burgers etc.

Makes about 5 smaller patties or enough for 2 people.

Happy Healthy eating! 

Also, Floyd was standing here so patiently waiting for this post to finish so we can go for a walk…when I remembered that he hasn’t made a cameo on the blog! Whattttt! 

Image

Leave a Reply

