Banana Granola….Right on the money!

2 Apr

Before we get to the guest of honour (banana granola!)…I just wanted to tell you about my weekend. Friday night was me and Floyd watching Melancholia with Kirsten Dunst. The movie is quite good but equally as odd. Saturday consisted of a bit of work and a bit of running in my new mizuno runners. I have to go on a tangent now. I’ve switched from my beloved Asics to Mizuno simply because Mizuno has better and more bright colors and now my feet are sore! I just bought them on Thursday and can take them back because I haven’t used them outdoors but am hoping that I was just breaking them in and thats why my feet are sore! I typically wear the Asics Cumulus which generally only come in boring white so I thought that because I’m a neutral runner that I could switch to any neutral shoe. So with the help of Penticton’s local running store I was able to track down some bright purple and pink Mizuno runners which for some reason make working out that much better. Anyways, my feet are actually horribly sore today and I only ran for ten minutes! Blah!

Sunday= snowboarding which was actually probably the best day of the year ( at least for me). There was buckets of snow everywhere, and as a new snowboarder that meant that falling wouldn’t be so painful. Funny thing is i got whiplash from falling on my head so hard and now can barely lift my neck up. 23 years old and I feel like an old woman with foot soreness and neck/back pains! Im going to the walk-in today to make sure everything is in order and that I can still continue with my scheduled workouts. We finished the day off with the perfect turkey burgers-recipe to share tomorrow.

Now to the most important item of the day…Granola.

The problem with many boxed granola’s is that they’re basically candy bars in oat form. Most have more grams of sugar per serving than a chocolate bar or can of pop. That’s why I labour for hours and hours and hours for you with the oven on…taste testing granola batches. ( Worse things have happened Im sure).

Anyways its not that easy making granola taste awesome without using a cup of oil/maple syrup/honey. Nothing is wrong with either of those items but put them all together and mix them with oats and your begging to get diabetes!

This granola features banana as the natural sweetener with only a touch of all natural brown sugar which works just fine for me. As a person with not only a sweet tooth- but sweet teeth…this granola is great.

Banana Granola:

  • 2 1/2 cups oats
  • 1/4 cup hemp seeds/ quinoa (uncooked)
  • 3 tablespoons brown sugar ( all natural)
  • 1/2 cup ripe ripe ripe bananas! ( If they don’t have brown spots don’t bother)
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened shredded coconut
  • 1 tablespoon coconut oil ( or other light tasting oil)
  • 1/4 teaspoon sea salt (rounded)
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/4 cup raisins

Directions:

Preheat oven to 300F. Line a cookie sheet with parchment paper and set aside.

Mix dry ingredients (including raisins) in one bowl and then the wet ingredients in a separate bowl. Finally mix these together and pour onto lined baking sheet. Place in the oven for 35-40 minutes. Granola is ready when it is golden brown and fragrant.Turn oven off and prop door open to ensure the granola gets crunchy!

Feel free to add any nuts or other dried fruits to the mix. I ended up adding some walnuts just for good measure.

Enjoy!!

 

Leave a Reply

