oh.my.word.: Alternative Pad Thai.

28 Mar

No pictures today folks. That’s because I inhaled it. I did think about grabbing the camera and snapping a photo 3/4 of the way through but then that would mean I would have had to walk 5 metres into the bedroom and I was just that lazy. So well all have to use our imaginations.

My fiance’s boss came over for dinner and I suggested we/ I make Pad Thai from the Rebar cookbook – which is unbelievable by the way. Almost every single recipe is outstanding. Which is unusual- like getting a CD where you like more than 3 songs.Buy the book…you wont regret it. It was on a regular rotation around here when I first received the cookbook. Anyways so I started brainstorming and this is what I came up with. That same day I thought well i’m trying to stray from white rice and i’ve already had that Pad Thai recipe several thousand times so what can I make that is related to Pad Thai but using brown rice and not a million ingredients?

Also… remember the heaps of almond butter that I needed to use up? yes, well it makes an appearance here so don’t be worried. It completely completely completely adds to the whole deliciousness! At first I was nervous but then after I downed my dinner and supposed lunch for tomorrow I knew it was a winner.

Alternative Pad Thai that is seriously seriously good:

Serves 1

  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 breast chicken/ 1/2 chunk of extra firm tofu
  • 2 large cloves garlic
  • 2 tablespoons almond butter
  • 1 tablespoon fish sauce (optional but incredible)
  • 1/2 tablespoon shallot
  • 1/4 cup tamari
  • 2 tablespoons srichacha
  • juice of 1 lime
  • cilantro
  • peanuts ( crushed)
  • sprouts
  • 1/2 pack rice noodles ( again rice noodles are the most traditional so use those if you want but I chose to use brown rice noodles which tasted equally as delicious)

Directions:

Cook your noodles according to package directions and while the water is boiling make the sauce…

In your miniature food processor…which I hope you bought seeing as how often its mentioned here!…mix the sauce (garlic, almond butter, fish sauce,shallot,tamari,srichacha and lime).Set aside.

Grab a fry pan and pour 1 tablespoon of peanut / grapeseed/ other light tasting oil and place your chicken in.Fry until set and then add egg and scramble that. Hopefully by now the noodles are ready and add those. Toss the noodles with the egg/chicken mixture for one minute. Finally add the sauce and the cilantro and toss until fully incorporated.

Lastly, plate your dish with an extra sprinkling of lime and crushed peanuts as well as sprouts.

Enjoy!!!

Leave a Reply

