Avocado RANCH DIP!

22 Mar

Yep. You heard it. The avocado is undetectable in this faux ranch dip. I dont like eating things that are supposed to mimic delicious items and then just end up being a total bust. Take for example kale ‘cool ranch’ chips. I bought the $8.00 ( EIGHT DOLLARS!!) bag of ‘cool ranch’ kale chips thinking that I could trick my mind into believing that they were a close cousin to Doritos ‘Cool Ranch’. Well they weren’t even in the same family, nonetheless distant cousins and in the garbage they went. I couldn’t even pawn them off on anyone else I know.

Or like when your mom made burgers and told you they were just like Mc’Donalds. No they weren’t. Dont even bother! Am I right or am I right?

Anyways back to the ranch. Okay so Im still seeing my trainer for the wedding ( I got a 5 pack session and am on my last one) and she suggests that I should curb my late night cravings with vegetables.Initially it was okay… until about the second day when I told her I feel like gagging eating vegetables. What I crave at night is generally cereal or chips (something crunchy). and NOT vegetable crunchy! Anyways I thought well to hell with it. If I have to eat more vegetables than I at least need a dip. But it had to be my style. No dairy, no weird preservatives that you can’t pronounce,no wheat and low in sugar. 

So before you go and grab your Hidden Valley Ranch give this a try. Im pretty sure your going to thank me.

I also made this in a very small batch in case it completely failed and I wasted a whole avocado ( god forbid). So Next time I will definitely be doubling or tripling.

The troops:

  • 1/2 ripe avocado
  • 11/2 tablespoons vegenaise ( can use regular mayonnaise but it wont be vegan anymore, also try to buy organic mayonnaise as it has less preservatives)
  • 1 scant tablespoon lemon juice ( fresh is best but I used the jug so I wont judge)
  • 1/2 tablespoon dried/fresh chives
  • 1/2 teaspoon dried dill
  • 1/2 teaspoon onion powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon sea salt.

Directions:

Mash Avocado really really really well.

This is where the miniature food processor comes in handy ( I absolutely worship mine and use it daily). However I wanted this to be an easy recipe which is why I only used dried ingredients ( I hate it when a recipe asks you to buy 10,000 fresh herbs…I never make those). 

Then add in spices and herbs and pop into fridge to cool a bit. Then devour! Raw veggies wont ever be the same. I actually looked forward to eating them today!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

