Weekend Happenings and a breakfast staple.

19 Mar

As ry went to his THIRD bachelor party. Three of FOUR that is. Apparently he may be having a hard time with marriage? ahahahaha. Anyways, Floyd and I headed to vernon to visit the grandparents. I love Floyd dearly but the man NEEDS a breathing machine for his loud snoring. Thats pretty much his only downfall and why I opt out of travelling with him less often. On Friday we went to Bulk Barn ( majorly exciting in our household) and then Saturday was spent watching 4 bridal movies. FOUR BRIDAL MOVIES….

I was a complete nutcase after. If your a bride to be and you watch a bridal movie its as if something gets disconnected in your mind and you start getting crazy for awhile ( if not along while). Im sure its similar for mothers when they watch a movie about babies but alls I can tell yah is that I wanted to kill Ryan for not agreeing to a certain flower or a certain this or a certain that. All of the movies included wedding planners and then I felt entitled to one too!….I should probably never watch a bridal movie again.

I also carry a truckload of snacks and staples around when we travel. Two grocery bags full of ’emergency snacks’? Necessary? YES! You never know when you might need some almond butter, protein powder, rice cakes, steel cut oats, nutritional yeast, peanut butter protein balls, dark chocolate, almond milk…..or MUESLI!

Holy. Why didn’t I share this on the first post! Well, this breakfast item/snack item gets eaten at least 4x a week. I find myself craving it all the time. Thats how I know its a staple. Plus its versatile and can be carried anywhere which is key to my busy UNEMPLOYED life. hah! 

okay so im going to give you the basic recipe and then a few additions to jazz it up. DONT be scared, this is very easy and delicious. Before you know it, you’ll probably be adding it to your emergency snack list!

Also- Muesli is best soaked overnight. The nuts/seeds/oats are very difficult to digest if you don’t soak them and you’ll most likely get stomach trouble if you forget this step. I always soak in vanilla almond milk, but have also soaked in coconut yogourt (YUM) and have heard of people using juice. This part is in your hands.

Britts Muesli

  • 4 cups of oats
  • 1/4 cup quinoa flakes (optional)
  • 1/4 cup spelt/ flakes (optional)
  • 1/4 cup buckwheat groats (optional)
  • 1/4 cup raisins/any dried fruit
  • 1/4 cup slivered almonds
  • 1/4 cup dried coconut flakes
  • 1/4 cup ground flax seeds
  • 1/4 cup dark chocolate chips ( naturally I add choco to EVERYTHING)

Okay so mix mix mix mix mix in a large bowl. ALLLLL of the ingredients. Feel free to go even more crazy and toast your coconut and slivered almonds – see the luxuries of not working? 

Now this is my staple mix but sometimes I don’t have quinoa flakes, or don’t have flax seeds on hand and I just completely omit them. This is YOUR mix so if you hate almonds change them for some other nut…or DONT use nuts. Also if you want a more oat to nut/fruit ratio then throw a cup more of oats in.

Now once you have your muesli mix…store in the fridge until ready to eat and I’ll show you how it goes down in my kitchen.

 

STEP 1

The night before put your desired portion into a bowl ( I generally use 1.3 – 1/2 cup because I amp it up with other things). Pour milk until the cereal is covered. At this point the cereal will most likely be somewhat floating around. At this point you can add any desired protein powder or chia seeds etc or just leave it the way it is. I also add frozen fruit here if I don’t have any fresh that I’d like to use.

STEP 2

In the morning take it out of the fridge and you have one of two choices. Devour before you can even open your eyes ( I opt for this if i’m grumpy- my ‘about me’ section should have included that ima grumpy bitch before breakfast)….OR if you have more patience than a three year old you can have an adult breakfast and add the real flavour. SO mix up the muesli and it should be like batter consistency as the oats have soaked up almond all of the milk. If there too stiff, simply add some more milk/yogourt and your good as new. My favourite additions are:

  • Drizzle of honey/agave/maple syrup….( could be more than a drizzle knowing me)
  • Fruit if ive not yet added it
  • lemon shavings (this takes them to a whole new level)
  • cinnamon/nutmeg/cloves/ginger or a combo of all.

ET VOILA. welcome to YOUR new breakfast staple.

Leave a Reply

