Wedding How To: Chalkboards and a wee ice cream recipe.

12 Mar

CHALKBOARD 101. Who Knew? (Besides everyone on Pinterest). Initially I went on ‘Etsy’ to purchase a couple of chalkboards. Well with me being a bride on a budget and each chalkboard being between 20 and 50 dollars (for the best ones)…I knew I could easily make them.

Chalkboards are great. Not only if you have children but to put up in substitution of pictures. They also make amazing vehicles for grocery lists! The uses are endless. Mine are going to be used for the wedding for things such as noting where the bathroom is, what the dinner menu is and signs for the dessert bar etc. YES YOU HEARD RIGHT. Dessert bar. Having only one cake is so boring. What if you don’t like cake ( we cant be friends if you don’t) but nonetheless there will be a plethora of desserts.

First things first. Scour all of your local thrift stores in search of frames you love. don’t let them rob you! Haggle for those! If you only manage to find a frame you love without a backing dont worry! I had several of these and simply went to a hardware store and bought a thin piece of wood in the same size that would fit in the back. You will also need a hammer and nail to nail it in once the chalkboard paint sets. Okay so once you’ve found the frame(s) you love, you’ll need either the paint and a paintbrush or the can of spray. I opted for the latter because I figured the spray would be easier. The spray I found at Michaels, but most hardware stores will carry the paint. Now each brand is different but this brand (found at Michaels)… takes 24 hours to set and then youll need to spray your board/piece of glass/cardboard backing again.

 Image

Many surfaces will take the chalkboard paint but some wont. Double check the back of your product to ensure you can use it. I had two wood backings and three glass. Note that with the glass backings you will need to also use some sandpaper to rough it up so that the paint adheres properly.

Basically I sandpapered the glass and sprayed it twice. The second time was 24 hours after the first time. With the wood you just need to spray/ paint it but you will notice that it requires more paint than the glass. Don’t worry, this is perfectly normal.

The final product is so amazing! I dont have any photos of it actually in use because I went to the dollar store and they DONT carry chalk (why?). Anyways Im off to staples right after this post! Heres two of the finished products

Image

Image

NOW ice cream ice cream, we/I scream for ice cream. Now if I had my way I would eat oreo ice cream any time I please. Which would pretty much be every day. Now being that I don’t have Mary Kate’s metabolism, MY healthified ice cream recipe will do jus’ fine. Now you WILL need a high speed blender for this recipe. But I swear to god it has ice cream consistency which is the ultimate factor. I used to make ice creams that were way too runny or way too icy…The secret ingredient my friends isssss Guar gum and Xanthun gum. The possibilities are endless with these two gems. You will need BOTH. You can find these products at any health food store. Each bag will be about $5-$6 and will last MONTHS. Unless you eat ice cream every night ( who me?). Anyways Heres a timeless classic. And because Im feeling generous I’ll give you a couple of variations.

Nice cream:

  • 1 cup non dairy milk (almond breeze vanilla is amazing)
  • 2 TBSP dark cocoa
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 TBSP peanut butter
  • 1 TBSP cane sugar
  • 2 TBSP dark chocolate chips ( or to your hearts content)
  • 1/3 tsp xanthum gum
  • 1/2 tsp guar gum
  • pinch of salt
  • 15-18 ice cubes.

Directions:

In your high speed blender. BLEND! if you don’t have a vitamix/blendtec you will need to add the ice gradually.

Toppings: Chunks of banana ( this is my fave), dried coconut, more chocolate chips, granola etc

Variation 2:

  • 1 cup non dairy milk
  • 30 grams protein powder
  • 2 tbsp dark cocoa powder
  • 2 packet stevia/splenda
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/3 tsp xanthum gum
  • 1/2 tsp guar gum
  • pinch of salt
  • 15-18 ice cubes

Directions: Same as above.

Variation 3: Coconut Banana

  • 1 Cup full fat coconut milk
  • 1 vanilla bean scraped or 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • pinch of salt
  • 2 dates or 2 TBSP sugar ( may need more)
  • 1 very ripe banana
  • 1/3 tsp Xanthum gum
  • 1/2 tsp Guar Gum
  • 15-18 ice cubes

Directions: same as before

Variation 4: Oatmeal Raisin

  • 1 cup non dairy milk
  • 2 tbsp raisins
  • 2 tbsp cane sugar
  • pinch of salt
  • 2 tbsp chocolate chips
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/4 tsp ginger
  • 1 pinch cloves
  • 1 tbsp oats
  • 1/3 tsp Xanthum gum
  • 1/2 tsp Guar Gum
  • 15-18 ice cubes

Directions: same same same.

Enjoy!!!!

3 Responses to “Wedding How To: Chalkboards and a wee ice cream recipe.”

  1. thebitchybride March 12, 2012 at 10:16 am #

    I LOVE those chalkboards. In fact, I’m going to rummage in my garage right now for a frame to adapt. Thanks for sharing!

    • btomren March 12, 2012 at 10:01 pm #

      yay!! I just popped onto your blog and laughed out loud SEVERAL times. Weddings are absolutely nuts. I’m excited to get married but also ready for it to be over!

      • thebitchybride March 13, 2012 at 12:50 am #

        I hear you sister!

Leave a Reply

